REVIEWS     
What guests are saying about their time at Villa Wenona... 

 
 
★★★★★  five star review! Rob L
Great stay at a great place on the water! Huge rooms, great furnishings and layout, kayaks, bicycles, beaches, sunset views and excellent seafood, birds everywhere including eagles!
Rob L   25/06/16
★★★★★  Great weekend getaway!
We had a great long weekend at Villa Wenona! The villa accommodated six adults and a one year old very nicely. The open layout of the kitchen, dinning area and sunroom are the heart of Villa Wenona! It allows everyone (including the cooks) to be part of the action. The rooftop deck is also a very nice touch that combines the cool breeze, the birds singing and a beautiful view. It’s the perfect way to wind down, watching the sunset after a busy day! We spent an afternoon on the beach near the “big” bridge that brings you onto the island. It’s a nice beach with a sandy bottom, not muddy like most bay beach area’s.

The property was very clean and well maintained. Everything was as advertised. I highly recommend a stay at Villa Wenona!
Mike F.   06/06/16
★★★★★  Fantastic house for New Years
What an amazing house! We went with two other families (two couples, and one family with two kids) and our dog. We’ve never been in a better-stocked rental home, ever. The kitchen was amazing, and we got a lot of warmth and use out of the fireplace. We watched shooting stars from the roofdeck and froze our cookies off, we walked to the hidden beach and let our dog run wild, we cooked fabulous dinners. We would definitely recommend this house to others and would love to stay there again next year.
Johanna H.   01/10/14
★★★★★  Beautiful, tranquil, relaxing, wonderful!
My family and I have just returned from one of the nicest vacations we have had in a long time! Our week at Villa Wenona was simply outstanding. The house is beautifully located at the end of Deal Island with water views that are amazing. The peacefulness and natural beauty of Deal Island is just a piece of heaven on earth. The house itself is so large and lovely, we loved the openness of it and the view of the bay from the sunroom is gorgeous. The kitchen is fantastic and so well stocked with every kitchen item you can think of! We had our entire family with us and everyone was comfortable and we never once felt crowded or on top of one another. We enjoyed the roof deck so much. We spent many mornings enjoying the sun and the view and spent many evenings just enjoying how beautiful the stars are in the big, clear night sky. The fire pit in the backyard was a huge hit with the young adults. I enjoyed taking our dog for walks behind the house in the evening where the Wenona Harbor is located and seeing the fisherman, their skipjacks and watching them working with their catches from the day. Our favorite thing was the beautiful little hidden beach that was basically our own each day we went. My husband connected with some of the locals and we had a some of the best blue crabs, crab cakes and sweet corn that we feasted on at the Villa at the wonderful dining table. We also took a day trip to Ocean City, only an hour away, to do the rides and get our favorite fare on the Boardwalk. Everyone, young and old, had a marvelous time and we didn’t want to leave!
Debbie   08/19/13
★★★★★  Villa Wenona
Most excellent house on Deal Island! LOVED every detail! The pictures only hint at the stunning villa waiting for you! Dreaming about the vacation was just the beginning. Living the dream was more than we had imagined! Not a touristy town. Friendly people. Small community. Lovely views. On the water. Private beaches nearby. Fishing, boating, crabbing, walking. Never have to leave the house. Games, excellent kitchen, piano. The best tree swing ever! Hammock. Lawn furniture and fire pit. Large grill. Many decks. Family fun! Hope to return SOON!!!
Doug   06/17/13
★★★★★  An amazing kitchen and beautiful sunsets!
We had a wonderful family Thanksgiving at Villa Wenona with nine of us and 2 dogs. The kitchen is big, country, and wonderfully inviting with room for everyone to either help cook or help supervise the cooking! The weather was cold but the fireplace kept us toasty warm. Rocco and Theresa were so helpful and easy to work with. We enjoyed meeting some of the locals at arby’s and Last Chance, and totally enjoyed our week on Deal Island!
The Richardsons   12/16/2012
 
★★★★★  Perfect site for family reunion!
The spacious layout of the home is perfect for family gatherings. From early mornings in the sun porch, to group meal preparation with lots of cooks in the kitchen, to evenings by the fire pit there are plenty of places to hang out, relax and catch up. The house was in great shape and surpassed our expectations. We found everything we needed in the kitchen and used the fabulous outdoor sink to filet our fresh catch of the day.

During the day our group enjoyed exploring the island while bird watching, biking, kayaking, fishing, beach combing and swimming. Then we’d all regroup at the house to share the sunset and dinner around the generous dining table.

All in all it was a fabulous week and we hope to return again!
Gail W.   20/06/16
★★★★★  Wonder place to stay !
We recently stayed here (May). VERY NICE. the house is well maintained, large rooms, large kitchen (several people can work in the kitchen at the same time), Nicely appointed.

Master bedroom very nice, as well as other bedrooms. We had 4 adults stay here, but the house can easily accommodate more.

The boat launch right across the property was very convenient.

This area is a treat.

The owner supplied local information was very helpful. Because of this information, we found amazing, and I do mean amazing deserted beaches to kayak to. Undisturbed beaches, clear water, wildlife... Felt like the Caribbean - really.

We plan to be back!
Tom M.   21/05/16
★★★★★  The Untouched Eastern Shore
If you are looking for a vacation on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, Deal Island and Villa Wenona are the place to go. Having spent more than 30 years sailing and boating on the Chesapeake Bay (mostly in the mid-bay around Annapolis, Kent Island, St. Michaels and Oxford) I was amazed at the really untouched beauty of Deal Island. And our experience at Villa Wenona, and with its owners Rocco and Teresa, made our weekend even more pleasurable. The house was very nice - large, well maintained, including bed linens, towels, and a fully equipped kitchen. The roof terrace is perfect for watching the sunset and the stars come out. There are kayaks, bikes and lots of good information on what to do and where to go locally. Deal Island is really a little slice of what most of the Eastern Shore used to be. There are no trendy restaurants and expensive boutiques a la St. Michaels. But there is a wharf full of working boats and watermen and a boat ramp. And a great little cafe, general store, Arbys, full of friendly locals and most necessities (beer and ice). The island also has two very nice public beaches (which are rare on the Chesapeake) where you can swim and fish. One beach, hidden away from public access, is a hidden gem. It goes on for a mile, at least, and the white sand and clear water make you think you are in the Bahamas or the Cayman Islands. If you’re tired of the crowded condos and expensive beach rentals of Ocean City and St. Michaels, get a taste of the real Eastern Shore via the friendly, helpful owners of Villa Wenona.
Robert T.   10/04/13
★★★★★  Great Family Vacation
Beautiful Tuscan Villa Home. Dream of ours to go to Italy and we were almost there. Lots of great amenities. Wonderful kitchen with the benefit of two refrigerators. Beautiful view, large lovely yard, pet friendly, quiet, great fishing, crabbing and place to reconnect with family. The area is quaint and the local people very friendly and helpful. We are as impressed with the hospitality of the owners as well as the home. The Owners extended such consideration and kindness to our family during a very difficult family situation. The caretakers Wonda, Dave, and their son were wonderful. Owners and caretakers were always available by phone for any questions or recommendations regarding area. Our family spent a wonderful week together. The home was so inviting, felt like we were borrowing it from family for the week. Plan to return.
Bob & Bev   07/10/13
★★★★★  Wonderful relaxing time
The house was just as nice as the pictures well equipped and very comfortable. It was a wonderfully quiet location. We enjoyed the kayaks and went out for several trips. The house amenities were great - loved having 2 refrigerators as the food stores are very far away. You must visit Arby’s and have a chat with the locals. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We also crabbed for the first time and had a nice crab dinner (was very happy to find the crab steamer at the house). The sunsets from both the deck and the sunroom were just lovely. We did take a day trip to Crisfield but was disappointed to find that the restaurants are only open from Thursday through the weekend off season. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place for you. I have recommended this property to my friends.
Linda S.   10/19/12
 
 
 
HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews